When I First Knew Myself I Was Six


 

When I first knew myself

the wind whipped my hair into knots

untangled by fingers searching for roots

ropes buried in sea salt brine

in the crook of my arm

in the folds of my skin

secretly breathing in

my own amber scent

pleasure of me

nestled in my lungs

tasting deep wells of sunlight

with my tongue.

 

KKLE   April 1, 2016

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mukul chand
    Apr 01, 2016 @ 16:56:28

    great poem

    Reply

Leave a comment

Poetry

Copy Rights

© Karen K.L.Espaniola and hinarising.com. 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Karen K.L. Espaniola and hinarising.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.